Topic: ColorFabb Bronzefill

Well I got my Colorfabb Bronzefill yesterday. This material is 80% fine bronze particles, 20% PLA (by weight).

So far not so great, clogs but I'm just getting started. I started with my standard PLA setting but I have begun to adjust my speed and temperature to see if I can find the sweet spot. I wonder if I need to use my bigger nozzle. Things I will have to explore.

With some of the half prints I have begun to test polishing it to make it shine. Not as easy as it sounds. Will take a lot of elbow grease and finesse. I had saw the results of someone using a rock tumbler and determined to get one now. Fow now I am practicing with sanding via steel wool, dremmel tool, sandpaper, files etc. One section I got looking pretty nice and was shiny  through elbow grease and sandpaper.

As for strength after printing, seems about on par with standard PLA. As for the weight the items DOES feel heaver and less cheap.

Long and short of it. Still testing to get any real results wink

* Sorry no pics, forgot to take some yesterday. Hopefully for my next post I'll have some.

Tammy
Solidoodle 2
E3Dv6 Hotend, MK5 v6 version, Glass Bed, Anti Z backlash slop nut, SureStepr SD8825 1/32 Extruder Driver, makeshift breakaway plexiglass case; . L-Cheapo 3.8 Watt Laser Attachment w/Custom built enclosure
From Buffalo, NY, USA

Re: ColorFabb Bronzefill

Good info!  I'm anxious to hear what you figure out on speed and temp settings.

A flow rate of 110 seemed to do the trick; Otherwise normal PLA settings.

Unpolished and polished in photo.

http://i.imgur.com/EMTvZLw.jpg

Tammy
Solidoodle 2
E3Dv6 Hotend, MK5 v6 version, Glass Bed, Anti Z backlash slop nut, SureStepr SD8825 1/32 Extruder Driver, makeshift breakaway plexiglass case; . L-Cheapo 3.8 Watt Laser Attachment w/Custom built enclosure
From Buffalo, NY, USA

Thus far setting my flow rate to 110 has kept the clogs away.