Topic: Soliprint failure

Hi Guys.

I am new to pretty much everything here and have tried to get the software to work on an old XP SP2 machine. I tried all three versions of the software, and they install but don't run. Can someone suggest why not? Is there another software option for a machine as old as this or do I need to splash some cash on windows 10? I would rather not as the hardware in the box probably won't support 10!! Is there a patch I can just download?

Any advice or assistance would be appreciated. I have been trying to make sense of all the info out there, but there seems to be no single FAQ repository to refer to that I can thus far find.

Daniel.

2 (edited by Kronikabuse 2018-04-25 16:28:07)

Re: Soliprint failure

ditch it and get repetier https://www.repetier.com/

Sd4 #9080 with a glass bed. E3d chimera duel extruder. Paste extruder , duet wifi.
Lawsy carriages. linear bearings. Y axis direct drive, Kinect scanner
SD4#8188 glass bed, lawsly carriages, E3d v6, octoprint http://www.ustream.tv/channel/hotrod96z28
Filastruder/filawinder, Custom Delta 300mm x 600mm

Thanks. Unfortunately, that requires .NET 4. I am still learning what that involves on an old XP, but it is not connected to the net atm. I think install requires a net connection. Would rather not go there with this machine...

Then I would recommend to go to a reliable computer like one at a friend or family members residence, download the files for Repetier-Informer onto a thumb drive, then install.

Printit Mason and Printit Horizon printers
Multiple SD2s- Bulldog XL, E3D v5/v6/Lite6, Volcano, Hobb Goblin, Titan, .9 motor, Lawsy carriages, direct Y drive, fishing line...the list goes on
Filawinder and Filastruder #1870.....worth every penny!

.net4 framework is not "internet" related... it is a programming framework used by certain programs - there are multiple versions of it - just like with any other program.