Topic: Wanhao Duplicator i3 Plus (or... Learning to 3d print by a total newb)

The title says it all. I have touched maybe 3 prints in my life ... one very well done, 1/32 scale print of a ww2 ships gun, and a couple of 1/24 scale, poorly printed, tug boat fittings. So, as the prisoner of war camp guard said "I know nuffing".

I did a lot of surfing and found I was just getting more and more confused. All of the decent deals were coming from the US, but I live in Canada. The current exchange rate is nearly 30 cents on the dollar, against me. Shipping from the US in most cases is expensive to say the least. Warranty support can be very iffy.

At first, I was going to build a machine from a kit ... then I joined a couple of user groups and started to read build threads. At one point in my life, I would have happily gone through all the gyrations, hoops and hurdles that I read about in the build threads, but I am now, nearly 70, with all the ailments that come with that, and I felt I had a better chance of success with a pre-built machine.

I wanted a Canadian supplier with a popular design of a machine and I found that.

So, I jumped in and ordered a Wanhao Duplicator i3 Plus. It should be here later this week.

I have done more, and more, and more reading.

I have discovered a possible flaw in the machine I bought. Apparently, and I won't know until I get it, this style of tower type printer can have unstable towers. The one I bought is the latest variant so we will see. However, if there is a problem, it is easily fixed with a couple of supports. A quick look on Thingyverse came up with both upper and lower brackets to mount on the machine and they are connected by hardware store threaded rod.

Also, from what I read, the printer head cooling fan shroud doesn't work all that well. The fix for that is also on Thingyverse.