Topic: Design and 3d printing ?

I'm a design student and for my dissertation I would really appreciate replies to the 3 easy questions below:
Do you consider yourself to be a designer ?
Would you seek the services of a professional designer ?
Has 3d printing made you more aware of design principles ?
Thank you very much !
Adrianne

Re: Design and 3d printing ?

adrianne wrote:

Do you consider yourself to be a designer ?Adrianne

Yes, its my job.

adrianne wrote:

Would you seek the services of a professional designer ?Adrianne

Not likely, see above

adrianne wrote:

Has 3d printing made you more aware of design principles ?Adrianne

Not really

It has made me more aware of the design principles for a part that has to be printed though.

SD2 with E3D, SD Press, Form 1+
Filastruder
NYLON (taulman): http://www.soliforum.com/topic/466/nylon/

adrianne wrote:

Do you consider yourself to be a designer ?Adrianne

Nope, occasional doodler. Freight broker by trade.

adrianne wrote:

Would you seek the services of a professional designer ?Adrianne

Probably not seeing as I have a friend who draws up the things I need, and I don't know whether or not she considers herself "a professional"

adrianne wrote:

Has 3d printing made you more aware of design principles ?Adrianne

No much, I learned my design principals in drafting, but It is interesting to see what can and can with much work be printed.

adrianne wrote:

I'm a design student and for my dissertation I would really appreciate replies to the 3 easy questions below:
Yes professional mechanical engineer and designer for 17 years
Hell no they don't know what they're doing
I don't know if 3d printing has "made" me more aware but there are techniques for designing for each manufacturing method
Thank you very much !
Adrianne

adrianne wrote:

Thank you very much !
Adrianne

1. Not really, not by trade