Topic: First 3d printer

Hi all, I am relatively new with 3d printers (have worked with a stsratasys printer at my high school before) and have been itching to build one to use at home for a while now.  I am on a relatively tight budget of $500 and am stuck over a few kits- the Wilson II, the Folger I3, and the Folger Kossel.  Between these three is the quality of the Wilson (https://www.bing.com/search?q=reprap+wi … orm=APMCS1) worth the extra money over the Folgers?  Are there better options for me under 500? Keep in mind that I have limited electronics experience, but am willing to spend time to learn more.  Thanks!

-Yak

Re: First 3d printer

from the looks of this page: http://reprapwilson3d.com/?variant=9962892101 - the Wilson is currently sold out...
beyond that - eh, not sure about the design itself - there is an awful lot of plastic involved and that means a lot places for failure/misalignment/various other issues.

I have both the FolgerTech 2020 Prusa i3 and the FolgerTech Kossel kits...
for a first timer I don't recommend the Kossel - it is fairly easy to build, but very fussy to calibrate.

The 2020 Prusa i3 is a decent machine for the price and fairly easy to build & calibrate. There is also a lot of support and info available for them in the form of forums like this one, and Facebook groups as well
I would not recommend the acrylic version, however - too many issues with the acrylic cracking during assembly, and it isn't as stable as the 2020 extrusion

SD4 #1 & #2 - Lawsy carriages, E3D v6, Rumba controller board, mirror bed plate, X motor fan, upgraded PSU & Mica bed heater
SD4 #3 - in the works ~ Folgertech FT-5, rev 1
Printit Industries Beta Tester - Horizon H1

Ok, so the wilson and the kossel are not options then.  Are there any other kits out there based on the Prusa design with higher quality parts (extruder, power supply, stepper motors)?

-Yak