Topic: New member with an opinion!

I just had a piece published at 3D Printing Industry, where I'm a contributing writer, which discusses the National Additive Manufacturing Innovation Institute, a federally funded (therefore, publicly subsidized) institute dedicated to developing 3D printing in the US. Sounds good, if you like 3D printing. But, if you like peace and are against a society that is run by the military-industrial complex, then you won't like that NAMII is headed by the National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining, which makes weapons for the military and helps construct drones. Also part of NAMII are companies like Northrop Grumman and Lockheed Martin, names everyone's familiar with. Basically, the 3D printing institute is just a way for the government to pay these companies to make weapons.

Please do me a favor and share the article, like it and +1 it and tweet it, so that the site I write for knows that it's okay to publish tech news that isn't strictly about cool, new gadgets and the like and that it's okay to write about these controversial and important issues.

Thanks so much!

Re: New member with an opinion!

I can't post the link, but it's up on the site right now. It's called "What the National Additive Manufacturing Innovation Institute Is and What I Wish It Was"

You do know that there is a huge amount of tech in use today by ordinary people that owes it's existence to 'companies that make weapons'.... just to name a few...

Computers
GPS system
Duct tape
Microwave ovens
Aerosol cans
Freeze dried foods

These are just the most common things and they came about because of a need in warfare smile
The advances in just the medical field alone due to casualties in the middle east have been enormous in the last few years and are currently giving people chances they would never have had to live life normally.

Ronsii, that argument is frequently used, but I think dubiously applied.