Topic: linux and OSX (mac) use with repetier modified firmware

I have both a mac and a linux machine (no windows boxes at all). Does any one have any suggestions on good software tool chains to go from design of a 3d piece to slicing and printing?

Repetier host on OSX is really ancient (v 0.5 versus 1.x on the other platforms). The linux version is ok, but its really just a windows app running under mono and it shows.

What software do people recommend?

I'm new to 3d printing but very comfortable with software development, so I'm hoping folks here can help me really get into this stuff. smile

Re: linux and OSX (mac) use with repetier modified firmware

Sounds like we have similar backgrounds, so I'll make some suggestions based on my (limited, ~1.5 weeks) experience. I'm also on a mac and

First off - since you're posting in the Davinci subform, I'll assume you have one of these machines. I have a 2.0 full-extruder model. The included software on this is pretty limited, but it does work reliably. The cartridges are about 2x price of other filament, but they have the benefit of generally just working. I was able to start printing immediately with the default setup.

Modeling
I've tried several 3d modeling programs (TinkerCAD, 123D Design, SketchUp, Blender, AutoQ3D). TinkerCAD and 123d Design are easy but you jump through hoops to accomplish anything complex. TinkerCad is extensible via javascript, possible that 123D is as well. Blender is capable but pretty complex, although there are plenty of resources available.

I do my modeling in OpenSCAD. It's programmatic and just makes sense to me, and can be integrated with Python for some pretty interesting projects. There were a few projects that took me days in TinkerCAD and 123D that I was able to replicate in hours with OpenSCAD. It's not particularly pretty but I find it very powerful and there's plenty of resources for learning.

Host Software