Topic: Model shifting mid print

For a little background here, I am a newbie, I have finally calibrated my Solidoodle (leveling board, extrusion etc) and I still have not had a successful print (except for a tiny box I made just to get the extrusion right).

So here's my problem:  The solidoodle starts the first layer and perimeter fine, then it gets confused and starts printing the rest of the model a cm off in the y-direction.

As you can see in the picture I was printing a map of the state of Michigan.  I ran the model through cloud.netfabb so I'm fairly positive it is not the model causing this, and because this also happened with a couple other designs I previously tested.  So then I upload the design into Repetier and sliced with Slic3r. In the viewing window, the model looked fine so I hit print.  But then after the first layer, the model is shifted down.  If you look at the south border of michigan, you can see that the perimeter was printed3 separate times, each time shifted down about a cm.

Does anyone know what is causing this?

Post's attachments

shifted design 2.JPG
shifted design 2.JPG 38.76 kb, 4 downloads since 2012-12-20 

shifted design.JPG
shifted design.JPG 46.66 kb, 4 downloads since 2012-12-20 

You don't have the permssions to download the attachments of this post.

Re: Model shifting mid print

Skipping steps! Could be mechanical binding (probably) or electrical. Lots of troubleshooting posted so far, search around a bit.

I agree... judging by the screw placements this is y-axis issue.  Check movement on y-axis by manually moving the y-carriage by hand to see if it's smooth.  Check the belt tensions and adjust as necessary.  After that, it very well may be an electrical issue so you'll have to do some searching on the forums to see how this was tackled.

Check here:
http://vimeo.com/55031028

for Solidoodle's true circle alignment as this also shows y-carriage adjustments.

4 (edited by ysb 2012-12-20 17:37:13)

also check your endstop...