Topic: Calibration issues / ideas

Hello! Newbie here, I have bought myself a Davinci 1.0. Been wanting a 3d printer for a while and also being an engineering student it is a handy gadget to have!

Anyway, I haven't had chance to read too many topics on here about the XYZ but I am having a few issues, the main one is the what seems like arbitrary calibration system it uses. I can understand how it calculates bed height however I have been finding that it goes out of calibration with a changing wind! Even to the point of sucessfully calibrating and then come back later when its all cold and its failing a calibration without changing the bed adjusters.

I was wondering what peoples thoughts are about this? Is it normal for these printers to need a calibration before every print? My own ideas are residing around the chassis the bed is mounted on, being plastic I think the heating and cooling cycles are allowing the plastic chassis to bend and move slightly thus throwing out the calibration. Does this hold up?

Anyway I look forward to hearing your thoughts on this issue. I will try the calibration by eye method I have read about today as well to see how well that works, I also plan to print the bed adjustment knobs that I have seen on thingiverse (brilliant idea) to make it a little easier. (I plan to print them just as soon as I can get it to receive jobs that is! currently its receiving the job then rebooting and thus loosing the job and not printing)

Re: Calibration issues / ideas