Topic: E3D v6 Solidoodle 2 Bowden

Hello,

I'm still a novice in 3D printing since my SD2 hasen't been able to print much without getting clogged.

I just ordered the new E3D v6  Bowden for my Solidoodle 2. I am wondering if I can use the standard direct extruder or if I have to modify it becuase I ordered the Bowden version.

I thought having a bowden pipe seemed cool, but  I didn't realize that it means that the extruder motor is mounted elsewhere.

Any tips for how I can do this, mounts I could print and use etc?
Thank you!

Re: E3D v6 Solidoodle 2 Bowden

Hopefully you ordered the 1.75mm version, which is universal with bowden extras.  If you ordered the 3mm bowden, contact the vendor and cancel it.  There are several mounts available.  Here is one that I like (because I adapted it from other's designs):  http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:431363

SD4 w/ RUMBA, E3D Volcano, all bearings, glass bed

1.75mm is indeed interchangeable. Where'd you buy it from?

I bought the 1.75mm one, and I ordered it directly from the manufacturers website.

Thank you for the link to the mount.
Can I mount it in the acrylic mount first? I need to be able to print to print the new mount. smile

hows the fan mounted? and any way to add G-code cooling fan duct?

Solidoodle 2 with Deluxe kit cover & glass bed with heater. and 2nd board SD2 used not 3rd and alum platform not installed yet still wood. also need cooling fan installed to board. use Repetier Host couple vers. Slic3r also have all free ware STL programs

6 (edited by MacDoodle 2014-09-04 20:34:54)

I haven´t received the E3D v6 yet. Still waiting for the mailman. smile