1 (edited by andreas.nikolakakis 2014-06-26 16:09:11)

Topic: Recycling in 3D printing (Filastruder)

Hello everybody!

My name is Andreas Nikolakakis and I am student at the MSc Engineering with Finance at University College London. Some weeks ago, I started my individual project, which is related to recycling materials at 3D printing (i.e. making filament).

The purpose of my individual  Project is to create a new, holistic approach of using recycling materials as filaments in 3D printing: I will create a techno-economic model that will be dual, as I will try to apply it to both a developed (i.e. UCL - London) and a developing city and prove its viability in terms of finance and sustainability. At the same time, I am studying the engineering limitations and constraints of using recycling materials in making 3D filament.

I woud like to use Filastruder as the main extruding system in my Financial Model as it is cheap and reliable in general.

However I have some questions:

1) Can Filastruder extrude recycled ABS or HDPE granules, given that they are already processed (cleaned, shredded etc.) by an industrial company?

2) Is there any chance that the current extrusion rate (~ 1kg/ 12 hours) increase in the future or you believe that this is the maximum capacity of Filastruder?

3) What are the dimensions of Filastruder?

Thank you in advance for your information.

Re: Recycling in 3D printing (Filastruder)

andreas.nikolakakis wrote:

1) Can Filastruder extrude recycled ABS or HDPE granules, given that they are already processed (cleaned, shredded etc.) by an industrial company?

ABS: No problem. Done by hundreds of users with various flavors of ABS.
HDPE: No one really uses this since it is nearly impossible to use in 3D printing due to extreme warp and inability you stick to anything.

2) Is there any chance that the current extrusion rate (~ 1kg/ 12 hours) increase in the future or you believe that this is the maximum capacity of Filastruder?