1 (edited by joshj 2014-05-25 01:51:21)

Topic: very easy repetier firmware uploaded with xyzware

This is a very easy firmware upgrade for the da vinci. Just use xyzware. no special drivers needed for the initial testing.

That said if you want to go back to stock firmware of do some other non-compiled version other drivers and arduino IDE will have to be installed.

Re: very easy repetier firmware uploaded with xyzware

Hi and thanks for the helpful video! I was wondering if there were any disadvantages to updating the firmware at this time? I am new to 3d printers but would love to have the additional functionality. Should I wait?

I've been trying to follow your posts on this firmware upgrade, but I have a few questions. Do you still print to with XYZ, or do you use another app? What are the benefits to changing to this firmware? Are there any downfalls or things to be aware of at this point?

Hi guys,
Thanks for the support first of all. Helps when others find what I am doing helpfull and they express it.
This is still beta, Maybee even alpha.

I am using retetier host for printing, others are using pronterface.

The down fall is the bed leveling is a work in progress, Dont have the tip wipe and clean set-up yet after home and before a print.

The benefits are very easy on the fly temp and speed changes, autobed leveling so it will make up for an out of level bed.
It is not xyzware. There is no need for any chip resetting or any such non sense.

My prints are not perfect but are already much more solid and beter bonding. bottom layer is actually solid and top layers actually fill. It can actually print very fast really.

Another downside is it is one more set of steps to learn, and we will change stuff as we go on. Changing the firmware to a newer one will not be as easy, but it is still not hard at all, just a couple extra steps.

I'm still not ready to make the switch yet.  Are there any bugs left to iron out?