Topic: Adjusting Filament diameter

I've been able to adjust my filament diameter by adjusting the temp.  I thought I had read somewhere that you could also adjust the diameter by adjusting the voltage to the motor. 

I've tried doing some searches but can't find out how that is done.  I looked at the PID instructions but I can't figure out what most of the acronyms mean. 

I don't think I'm getting the feed rate that others are getting and was thinking about playing with the voltage.

Can someone give me the instructions on how to do that?  Is that a good idea?

Re: Adjusting Filament diameter

Its not a good idea. Exceeding 12 volts (the rated voltage of the motor) is going to accelerate wear on the brushes.

What material?
What temperature?
What diameter are you seeing?
What extrusion speed? (inches per minute)

Something I've been doing lately is insulating the entire barrel. This seems to improve speed 50-100%.

I had wondered about that.  I'm not an engineer so I didn't know for sure.

I'm extruding 3mm ABS at 171 degrees.  I just measured it and I'm getting about 3 inches per minute.  My diameter is pretty consistent around 3mm. 

Maybe I've to too much of a loop between the struder and the winder and it's pulling it too much.

171deg is way too cool for ABS.

Again - what speed are you seeing at 171C?

New questions:
Is the fan on? You can turn it off to get a decrease in diameter.
Failing that, you may need a slightly smaller nozzle. You need at least 180C to get decent extrusion speeds.

It's in my previous post.  I'm getting about 3 inches a minute

I do have the fan on.

I'm just using the nozzle that came with it, it was already drilled. 
I can try turning the fan off and the heat up.

Whoops - skipped over it with all the 3s.

3"/min at 3mm is about what I would expect actually. Most folks around here use 1.75mm, which extrudes about 3x faster linearly than 3mm, but about the same volumetrically.