Topic: Terribly Rude, Sorry - Az Tuning In

Right, sorry, started off with panicy newbie questions rather than an introduction.....

Just a heads up, and thanks for making this forum,

I'm a teacher out in AZ who's school just scrounged together the dosh for one of these lovely machines on my suggestion that it'd be easier/cheaper to print physics lab components than to order them at an arm and a leg a piece...

I tend to test this theory extensively as soon as the printer arrives, and in the mean time I've been designing example components from which I'll have to teach my students how to design and print...

if you got any suggestions on how to make this easier other than "raid the crap outta Thingiverse"' (which I already do)    let me know!

Re: Terribly Rude, Sorry - Az Tuning In

Welcome!

There are a few things that Are pretty neat. I'm not sure what you've already got stuck into, but here goes anyway! There is heaps of info on each of these things all over the forum, and don't be afraid to ask questions!

For making new objects, I've used two apps, google sketchup and inventor fusion. Sketchup is great because it has a fairly shallow learning curve. Inventor has a bunch more features, but isn't quite as easy to get your head around. Sketchup needs a plugin to export to stl, inventor has it built in. Both apps are free for personal use, you might need to look into licensing for educational use though.