Topic: Design tips for additive manufacturing.

Call to all part designers, how about sharing your best tips for additive manufactured parts? In contrast to injection molded parts, I am personally finding it quite liberating to free myself from draft angles, thin wall sections, undercut nightmares, knit line strength issues, etc.

Here are some of my tips:

- Think about reducing overhangs from the very beginning of your design, and determine the face that's going to be printed first.

- Try to convert counterbore overhangs to 45degree chamfers instead, much easier to print a 45 degree overhang than a 90.

- Explore part trapping of features buried behind geometry. This is something that would be nearly impossible to mold, but easy to print, ie hex nut holes burried behind walls.

- 50% infill produces a surprisingly strong part.

Nothing earth shattering here, I know, but I'm also pretty new to designing parts meant only to be printed. I'm sure there are a lot of us that can learn from the rest of you! Thank you for your time.

Re: Design tips for additive manufacturing.

Good idea.

Here is mine: Prefer chamfers over rounds in general. 

The "rounded" version on the right ends up a "hairy" mess at the bottom of the hole and pocket. This is because as you get to closing off each, your angles approaches 90 degrees.

The "faceted" version on the left is a nice and clean on the bottom.

http://virtualvector.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/ScreenHunter_183-May.-15-14.481.jpg
(flat part you see is face down on the printer bed)

If you must use a round (such as to avoid stress concentration) try to make it vertical, not only so that it prints, but so the layers line up perpendicular to the "line" of high stress. That is, you want to be breaking the plastic strands, not separating two "glued" strands.

SD2, glass bed, MK5 setup with E3D lite extruder
NX and Solid Edge CAD user
PI, Galileo, and arduino hacker
Code Monkey and Twitter user @burhop