Topic: Help on Buying my first 3d Printer :)

Hello all!

I've been looking into the 3d printing hobby for a while now and I'm finally thinking about jumping in! My main goal right now is to print high performance functional RC car parts. I've done some research and I think NylonX might be the best choice of filament for my use case. I'm having some trouble finding the right 3d printer for the task though. I'm a broke college boi and really don't have much money to spend on a printer right now, my absolute budget is $750 and under. I'm still learning about 3d printing and from what i heard carbon fiber/nylon filaments print much better in an enclosed environment. For $750, I would need a printer that can already handle this filament with no further upgrades done (one thing that is keeping me away from the Prusa i3). So far the Qidi X-Plus seems like a decent option, but im really worried about making the wrong choice and ending up with something that is a waste of money. I'm also open to buying a cheaper printer and upgrading it to the point of printing carbon fiber nylon. As long as the upgrades needed to be done aren't to hard for a noob like me to pull off. lol

One other really important spec I need:

- print bed with dimensions greater than 23cm in either the X (length) or Y (width) dimension.

Any and all help is really appreciated! big_smile

Re: Help on Buying my first 3d Printer :)

my honest suggestion is to wait, keep saving your money and when you can afford it, buy a higher quality printer.
Sure, there are gobs of them on the market for cheap.. and that is exactly what you get - cheap! dont waste your time with them.

SD4 #1 & #2 - Lawsy carriages, E3D v6, Rumba controller board, mirror bed plate, X motor fan, upgraded PSU & Mica bed heater
SD4 #3 - in the works ~ Folgertech FT-5, rev 1
Printit Industries Beta Tester - Horizon H1

Re: Help on Buying my first 3d Printer :)