Topic: Library getting 3D Printer

My local library is getting a 3D Printer next month. I have borrowed a bunch of books on 3D Printing in preparation and hope to try it out.
What things should I be aware of in using a library 3D Printer (bear in mind I am a noob)?
They plan to use TinkerCAD, Blender and another (name forgotten) intermediate in difficulty between them. I of course will start on TinkerCAD.

Re: Library getting 3D Printer

A library printer . When I inquired about the printer at the local library I found it was locked in the basement in the electronics resource room . IE you could give them an stl file and they would print it for you the public apparently never got to see the printer  much less touch it. I hope your experice will be better.

There are many printers out there . many good ones and they all have there quirks and limitations. without knowing what the library has purchased I can not give any advice.

Soliddoodle 4 stock w glass bed------Folger Tech Prusa 2020 upgraded to and titan /aero extruder mirror bed
FT5 with titan/ E3D Aero------MP mini select w glass bed
MP Utimate maker pro-W bondtech extruder
Marlin/Repetier Host/ Slic3r and Cura

from a design aspect, orientation is everything.

most printers build up from the bottom (ie: bed platform) - so how a piece is oriented on that platform will have a lot of bearing on the success of the print.

think of a capitol letter "T" - you would not want to print this in it's normal upright orientation as the crossbar would not print well - even with supports, rather you would flip it upside down so the crossbar is on the platform, and the leg in the air. Far greater chance of success in printing.
in general, try to orient things to use the least amount of support structures as possible.