1 (edited by jvandyke 2019-04-17 13:17:56)

Topic: Davinci 1.0 E3d V6 conversion and temperature values

I know, I'm late to the party.
I have had and fiddled with a Davinci 1.0 for years.  (I'm a teacher and "try" to use this with my students so be gentle, this is not my forte). I jail broke it right away and have run repetier since.
Finally decided to try to improve print quality and upgrade the hot end.  I did this: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:707530
Ended up having to hack the daylights out of the carrier to fit the E3d's fan in there so there's no going back.
I did 12v supply to the fan (soldered to the board) and fan's ground to nozzles' fan connector on the little pcb on the OEM carriage.
Thermistor wired to carriage's pcb.  I did not (yet) desolder R29 on the main board nor have I yet tried a different temperature table (5,8? so much "loose" info out there).
Question:
is there a definitive answer as to how to get accurate temperature readings with this set up? I know the Davinci is weird with a non standard thermistor and resistors in the circuit, R29 and possibly on on the carriage's pcb as well.
I'm looking to stand on the shoulders of giants here and get it working, my students want to print!
I don't know if I should try a different temp table AND disable something in the 1.0's circuitry. Or just the table flash, or what. (I have to look up how to do that too!).
Status at the moment is it heats up but won't extrude, it "thinks" the nozzle is as hot as 260 but can't be as ABS won't move (it's not impossible there's a blockage I suppose but everything is freshly installed so I sorta doubt that.  I really want to have some confidence that the temperatures I see in Repetier are accurate.
I will go back to searching to see if I missed something.
Thanks for any help, my students and I appreciate it.

PS, back in the day voltivo's forum was helpful, that's dead now eh?

2 (edited by AbsoluteCatalyst 2019-04-18 20:31:51)