Topic: Looking for Solidoodle 3 aluminum bed support

If anyone is parting out an SD3, I am looking to upgrade my "wooden" bed support frame for the later aluminum part.... looks like this....http://soliforum.com/i/?uTF2zZV.jpg

Re: Looking for Solidoodle 3 aluminum bed support

Can I ask why?  I have both styles and my opinion is the wood is more stable.

Printit Industries Model 8.10 fully enclosed CoreXY, Chamber heat
3-SD3's & a Workbench all fully enclosed, RH-Slic3r Win7pro, E3D V6, Volcano & Cyclops Hot End
SSR/500W AC Heated Glass Bed, Linear bearings on SS rods. Direct Drive Y-axis, BulldogXL
Thanks to all for your contributions

My wooden one has visible cracks in the black paint, which suggests that over time it may have sagged or subjected to stress.
As an engineer, I find it hard to believe that an aluminum structural support which appears to be 5-6mm in thickness would be less stable and have less structural integrity than wood which is prone to humidity changes and warpage due to stress. The solidoodle designers must have felt that going to the aluminum version was an improvement right?
http://soliforum.com/i/?nevGBNH.png

The humidity issue I would agree with.  As for Solidoodle having engineers at all is fairly laughable.  But I am clearly no expert on the issue.  I was simply offering my observation is all.  As for the cracks you pictured.  Almost looks as though maybe,,, perhaps the glue was laid on too thick and cracked during the curing process.
It would be nice if some of our peers would jump in with other opinions.

3-SD3's & a Workbench all fully enclosed, RH-Slic3r Win7pro, E3D V6, Volcano & Cyclops Hot End
SSR/500W AC Heated Glass Bed, Linear bearings on SS rods. Direct Drive Y-axis, BulldogXL

Sorry, I'm no help.  I didn't even know they made those out of wood.

-Kevin

knowack wrote:

Sorry, I'm no help.  I didn't even know they made those out of wood.

-Kevin