Topic: Cheap vs. Quality

I thought it might be interesting and useful to have a respectful discussion of the merits of cheap vs. quality parts and solutions.

I'm here because I bought a Solidoodle 2 when they went on sale. And i bought it because it was the cheapest printer available at the time. I wanted to learn about 3d printing and didn't want to spend a lot of money. I'm sure many of us who bought a Solidoodle did so for reasons of thrift.

I'm a thrifty guy. When it comes to modding, fixing, or upgrading my printer I want the cheapest solution that will perform to my needs for a reasonable amount of time. I'm a hobbyist and don't mind a bit screwing around if I learn something or save a few bucks. Sometimes I go quality, sometimes I go cheap. For example, when I wanted a new hot end, I went genuine E3d because I felt the money was worth the confidence I would have in its performance. I'm quite happy though it's a v5 and can be a bit finicky with PLA. When i built my Lawsy carriages, I found that quality American bearings would be a little pricey vs. Chinese eBay bearings. I ordered 3 times what I needed for a price that was still quite a bit lower. I chose the best of the batch to put in my printer and they glide like butter. I took a gamble and it paid off.

Anyhow my thoughts on the subject:

Pros of quality
Reliable and Dependable
Longer lasting
Less time screwing with your printer and more time printing

Cons of quality
Expense
Availability (sometimes)

Pros of Cheap
Price
Availability (sometimes)
Feeling that you got pro performance for gutter prices

Cons of Cheap
Quality (sometimes can be offset by buying in volume)
Time (waste of your time if cheap part does not work or wears quickly)
Money (if you buy total crap that you just have to throw away)