Topic: repetier on a Win7 machine

I'm a high school engineering teacher and I'm running a solidoodle 3 from home.  It works fine with my laptop, but when I try to download Repetier 2.0.5 on a school laptop I can connect, but I get no temperature info back to the computer and I cannot heat up either the bed or hot end.  nothing seems to operate from manual mode.

looking back I see an error of communication timout

Any suggestions on how to get these older laptops to work with my older doodle.  Should I back down to an older version of Repetier?  The documentation suggests that the latest repetier should work with win7

SD3 added E3DV6 and the Titan
still a rookie newbie, but learning.
Dreaming on building a large format from scratch

Re: repetier on a Win7 machine

joepayette wrote:

I'm a high school engineering teacher and I'm running a solidoodle 3 from home.  It works fine with my laptop, but when I try to download Repetier 2.0.5 on a school laptop I can connect, but I get no temperature info back to the computer and I cannot heat up either the bed or hot end.  nothing seems to operate from manual mode.

looking back I see an error of communication timout

Any suggestions on how to get these older laptops to work with my older doodle.  Should I back down to an older version of Repetier?  The documentation suggests that the latest repetier should work with win7

You should go back to an older version around the win7 time frame. The newer version is optimized for 10 protocols and is iffy in other versions.

Printing since 2009 and still love it!
Anycubic 4MAX best $225 ever invested.
Voxelabs Proxima SLA. 6 inch 2k Mono LCD.
Anycubic Predator, massive Delta machine. 450 x 370 print envelope.