Topic: 3d Print software for beginner

Hi guys im new to 3d printing design, but i love to learn some. could you guys share with me which 3d design software is suitable for beginner and also their pros and cons? i prefer software that more general to use , i mean when i dont use this software anymore i can still use my skill on other software

Thanks have a good day big_smile

Re: 3d Print software for beginner

Four  that come to mind 123DDesign. No longer supported by auto desk but downloads still available still usable. Free
Tinkercad  supported  easy to use

Fusion 360  cloud base very powerful bit of a learning curve

Blender does all things 3d free  huge community  steep learning curve.
Need a decent computer.

Soliddoodle 4 stock w glass bed------Folger Tech Prusa 2020 upgraded to and titan /aero extruder mirror bed
FT5 with titan/ E3D Aero------MP mini select w glass bed
MP Utimate maker pro-W bondtech extruder
Marlin/Repetier Host/ Slic3r and Cura

If you need prints that need to be actually round then stay away from Tinkercad. The cylinders it generates are composed of faces and will never be truly round.

Printing since 2009 and still love it!
Anycubic 4MAX best $225 ever invested.
Voxelabs Proxima SLA. 6 inch 2k Mono LCD.
Anycubic Predator, massive Delta machine. 450 x 370 print envelope.

carl_m1968 wrote:

If you need prints that need to be actually round then stay away from Tinkercad. The cylinders it generates are composed of faces and will never be truly round.

Even if you use a CAD program that uses solids or NURBS or other type of mathematical interpretations for curves surfaces, once exported to STL for printing, the tessellation process will convert that curved path to faces (triangles).

But depending on how dense the triangle mesh is, the surface can appear very smooth.  So I'm sure there's some kind of setting in TinkerCAD that can be set to increase the density of the faces to generate a near smooth curve.