1 (edited by Dorion 2017-10-15 04:19:57)

Topic: Need model for right rear bracket.

Hi everyone. Brand new owner, lucked onto a totally unused DaVinci 1.0 at a local estate sale. Already had the interest, so snapped it up. Been testing/learning over the past couple weeks. I see a lot of hacks/customizations for this box, but I'm nowhere near ready for that sort of thing. smile Some day maybe, but I'm taking my time getting up that ramp.

And I've already broken it.

----------
TL;DR: Please see pic. Going to glue it together to try to limp a replacement out of the printer, if someone can point me toward a model. (My ears are also open to any further suggestions/advice.)
----------

Now the long version, in case anyone is searching and looking for a similar solution. Excuse me if my terminology is…imprecise. I’m a rank newb and not ashamed to admit it. smile

During a print today, I noticed the Y axis layers walking backward — every layer was shorter and shorter, toward the back of the cabinet. I went into calibration mode to see how the head was moving, and saw it was stuttering in the Y direction. I got the 0030 error first, but when I reset the machine, I got 0031. After I turned it off and then back on again (the holy maneuver), there were no error messages, but I could see that the little belt in the rear right was loose, keeping the Y direction from traveling correctly.

I removed the right hand cover to see if there was an obvious way to tighten the belt. When I loosened the screws for that motor, something fell out. I tipped the machine toward me, and another broken piece slid out from underneath. I removed one screw and was able to remove the broken bracket by pulling upward. It’s clearly meant to enclose and support the gear for that short belt. Seemed like an obvious diagnosis. (As to how/why it broke, that’s another question.)

Now, if only I had a 3D printer, this would be the perfect use for one!  >:(