Topic: Solidoodle 4 freezes/becomes unresponsive

No idea what is happening (Complete noob), Ive installed Soliprint and Repetier on two different laptops. Sometimes the printer works, Ive managed to print a few things. But most of the time it freezes up either while heating up or while printing. I unplug and re plug in the usb cable and restart which ever program Im using and the printer will work again for a bit.

Re: Solidoodle 4 freezes/becomes unresponsive

Could be a bad PSU or even a bad USB cable.  Are you seeing an error in the log that may indicate some sort of bad connection on the thermistor?  Give us as much info as possible and we will do our best to guide you through troubleshooting.

Printit Industries Model 8.10 fully enclosed CoreXY, Chamber heat
3-SD3's & a Workbench all fully enclosed, RH-Slic3r Win7pro, E3D V6, Volcano & Cyclops Hot End
SSR/500W AC Heated Glass Bed, Linear bearings on SS rods. Direct Drive Y-axis, BulldogXL
Thanks to all for your contributions

I get no errors, it just stops (randomly it seems)* I have had repetier stop working, but that was a windows error. I did notice if I just heat the extruder and not the bed it doesn't seem to freeze up nearly as much(extruder 195 bed 90), but Im printing with abs so I kind of need the bed heated (I think). I replaced the usb cable tonight.  Managed to do a 45 minute print(heated the bed then shut it off once the first few layers were down), but when I went to print something after that, it froze up again.

Sounds like a bad power supply dropping out at full load.

Printing since 2009 and still love it!
Anycubic 4MAX best $225 ever invested.
Voxelabs Proxima SLA. 6 inch 2k Mono LCD.
Anycubic Predator, massive Delta machine. 450 x 370 print envelope.

Is there a way of testing the power supply , or is buying a replacement the easiest thing? What are the voltage requirements of the printer?

6 (edited by Tin Falcon 2017-04-02 11:42:35)