Topic: Hello from Long Beach, CA. got SD3 yesterday, help connecting to mac!

I just received my sd3 yesterday. I ordered it on 12/26/12 (christmas present to myself). I'm setting it up and am following instructions provided online and having problems. I have a mac book pro, and installed repetier host 0.53 for mac then I set all the printer setting as they should be for the sd3. I then plugged in the power printer to then the usb to my computer, and the port connection will not recognize the printer. It only gives me choices for "virtual printer", "bluetooth pda sync" and "bluetooth modem" . My printer does not show up. I am a noob here, so any help will be much appreciated. Am I missing any more software or drivers?

Re: Hello from Long Beach, CA. got SD3 yesterday, help connecting to mac!

Not sure about a mac, but make sure your usb/serial drivers are installed.  Had a simular problem with my pc when I plugged in the printer cable to usb, and booted machine, could not find the drivers for that com cause its wireless to internet, and was slow connecting.  Checked device manager and loaded new drivers from internet. Then had to choose the com port that appeared after loading drivers ( in repetier).  Only had com 3 before, then after re-boot, com 4 appeared.  I selected com 4 and works fine.

3 (edited by nickythegreek 2013-02-26 19:32:10)

I had the same issue on my mac.

Follow step 2 of this guide:
http://www.solidoodle.com/mac-instructions/

Thank you for the responses! I followed the steps to that link and SUCCESS!!!! I added the FTDI drivers and my mac book now recognizes the SD3. I have control on the printer now. I just installed my filament and I'm going to attempt to do my first test print. well see how this goes. thanks again you all are very helpful. This is a cool printer community.

Hey Matt,