Topic: SD3 Noob: Please help with printer output

Hi all,

I am new to 3D printing  and I hope not to regret taking the decision of buying this printer (SD3) instead of the MakerBot. After some hours of frustration, I was able to communicate the PC to the printer and control it manually and set the head and platform temperatures. Later,  I couldn't get any print because it was not sticking to the platform. SD support sent me a link for the Z-Stop alignment and I found another video for leveling the platform (Sadly, my Kapton film was already perforated on the screws).

After leveling the platform and performing the Z-Stop, I was able to make some prints but I am seeing some issues: Basically the dimensions of the parts don’t match the dimensions of the original design , there is extra material in every single piece and some pieces are not having enough material at the end. The worst part is that when I tried to print a cylinder X-Y axis shifted more than once.

I am using 200/100 degrees and the defaults for .1mm profile.

Thank you in advance for you help,

CB

Post's attachments

IMG_2798.JPG
IMG_2798.JPG 1.88 mb, file has never been downloaded. 

IMG_2803.JPG
IMG_2803.JPG 2.61 mb, file has never been downloaded. 

IMG_2805.JPG
IMG_2805.JPG 2.82 mb, file has never been downloaded. 

IMG_2807.JPG
IMG_2807.JPG 2.7 mb, file has never been downloaded. 

You don't have the permssions to download the attachments of this post.

2 (edited by nickythegreek 2013-02-18 23:06:59)

Re: SD3 Noob: Please help with printer output

I suggest starting out with the .3mm profile until you really understand the printer.  Printing at .1mm can take some more finesse .  Once you feel comfortable with the slicing software and the mechanics of the printer then move to .1mm printing.

Give your kapton tape a once over with some isopropyl alcohol or look into the super cheap and highly effective 6"x6" glass + hairspray + binder clip mod.