Topic: Print-ready textgenerator, is there such a thing?

I don't have a better word for it, but I'm looking for anything that would generate text that's stuck together so that you can print it in one piece. For example I made "drink sticks" for my brother with his name on, I'm a pretty slow modeler so it took quite some time putting the letters stuck to eachother in blender. People liked the idea so I have requests coming in but each name (or word) takes so much time it's barely even worth it.

Re: Print-ready textgenerator, is there such a thing?

This is the type of thing that openSCAD is made for.

SD3 w/ mods:
Glass bed with QU-BD heat pad upgrade, threadless ballscrew w/ 8mm smooth rod, spectra line belt replacement, lawsy MK5 extruder, Lawsy replacement carriage, E3D hotend, Ramps 1.4 w/ reprap discount controller, DRV8825 drivers, 12v 30A PS, Acrylic case, Overkill Y-idlers, Filament alarm, Extruder fan + more.

That seems to be a very overcomplicated way of making cubes. I'm interested in text though, which openSCAD know nothing about (at least that I found out).

4 (edited by adrian 2014-02-19 12:28:49)

I think you missed the point 2n2r5 was making for you.

You model the drink sticks once in openscad, and setup a variable called 'DrinkText' - then in the openscad program, wherever you want to place that text you use $DrinkText .

Then hit F6, export to stl. Done.

When you want to change the name - Simply change the text assigned to DrinkText, and then hit F6, and it will recreate that same model with the new text on it.

You need to simply think in terms of 'what text i want to print' is simply the contents of a variable, and then in the openscad model code, you dont type 'what text i want to print', but rather the variable name. Then all you ever need to do to change 'the text' is change whats written for that variable. The model settings deal with making that 'text' appear as 3D etc etc.