Topic: Hexagon2 and DAZ3D stl files and lost abs casting

I'm an artist and i originally ordered the solidoodle for its price point and a desire to get into making sculpture. I have some familiarity with Hexagon 2 which is a 3d development tool for Daz 3d and other 3d programs. Now the mdoels from daz 3d can be brought over as stl files for Hegagon 2.

I was wondering if anyone has looked at these programs to see how effectivly the stl files can be used and printed in and on the solidoodle.

I'm thinking of using a lost abs casting technique which is very similar to the burnout for lost wax casting. I know it is possable but can anyone give me any further ideas of the process. IE have you done it how feasable and any toxic gasses i should be aware of

Re: Hexagon2 and DAZ3D stl files and lost abs casting

People have been doing this with PLA.  I'm not sure why one would be preferred over the other, other than PLA smoke not being quite as nasty.  Google Lost Wax and PLA, and you should find some threads about it at the RepRap forum, if not elsewhere.

Moved thread to correct section.

4 (edited by ysb 2012-10-15 22:45:49)

i work with poser pro for a long time and i try to find an effective way to print the model. it's not easy to transform a collection of. obj (poser export) to something that is easy print-able.

as daz3d use the same base model as poserpro, the problem is the same.

if you take only a nude model, there is no problem for printing.

the problem start when you try to print a base model ( v3, v4..) with clothes.

take a nude leg : the printing is good to print like a solid model
take a leg with a boot : skinforge/slic3r/other. will see this as a hollow model instead of a solid. the polygons of the boot will be the outer core of the model, the polygons of the leg will be the inner core of the model.. so the leg will be hollow with all the problems of printing this type of model.

i will give you any solution i found.