Topic: Another Newbie

Hello To All

I am a total newbie to 3d printing. I play at making model steam and stationary engines and I have a modest shop with two milling machines and two lathes. I play with r/c stuff ... sail boats and scale electric boats.

I need to keep my mind going and to this end I want to learn 3d cad and also learn to use a 3d printer.

I have 1.7 million questions.

Tom

I was cut out to be rich ... but ... I was sewn up all wrong!
Wanhao Duplicator I3 Plus with glass bed, MK10 All Metal Hot End

Re: Another Newbie

Welcome aboard Tom, lots of very knowledgeable and helpful folks here so ask away.

Printit Industries Model 8.10 fully enclosed CoreXY, Chamber heat
3-SD3's & a Workbench all fully enclosed, RH-Slic3r Win7pro, E3D V6, Volcano & Cyclops Hot End
SSR/500W AC Heated Glass Bed, Linear bearings on SS rods. Direct Drive Y-axis, BulldogXL
Thanks to all for your contributions

Welcome!
you have 1.7 million questions - the great people here should have 1.7 million answers (or more, lol)

SD4 #1 & #2 - Lawsy carriages, E3D v6, Rumba controller board, mirror bed plate, X motor fan, upgraded PSU & Mica bed heater
SD4 #3 - in the works ~ Folgertech FT-5, rev 1
Printit Industries Beta Tester - Horizon H1

Thanks for the welcome.

Question #1 ... I am considering pulling the trigger on this machine. It has an all metal frame, seems to be open source and adaptable as far as heat, speed, and filament is concerned.

A bit more than some starters, but this is Canada and we get used to paying a bit more for technology. Also, I don't want to be looking at upgrades in two weeks if I don't need to.

From what I can see, this would keep me well occupied for a while.

http://spool3d.ca/wanhao-duplicator-i3-plus/

Tom

Tom Welcome to the forum .