Topic: Pla recommendation?

I am new to using 3rd party filaments.  Could anyone recommend the best pla brands to try?  I have only used the xyz brands that come with the davinci 1.0 and davinci junior.

Re: Pla recommendation?

Butterfly39 wrote:

I am new to using 3rd party filaments.  Could anyone recommend the best pla brands to try?  I have only used the xyz brands that come with the davinci 1.0 and davinci junior.

Have you modified your machines? You can't use other brands unless you do some changes that you can find listed around here. Some are a bit involved so be warned.

Printing since 2009 and still love it!
Anycubic 4MAX best $225 ever invested.
Voxelabs Proxima SLA. 6 inch 2k Mono LCD.
Anycubic Predator, massive Delta machine. 450 x 370 print envelope.

3 (edited by Butterfly39 2016-04-16 23:16:39)

Yes I have on the davinci jr. That's the one i want to try the 3rd party filament on:)

This discussion has been had several times in the past so you may want  to do a search.

IMHO if I were to be buying some at the moment I would go to http://www.makergeeks.com/pla3dfibymaf.html
they are having an incredible sale $16.50 a roll with free shipping so a great time to buy and try.
This is made in USA material.  I have not tried this material but see no reason not to .

Colorfab pla/pha is nice stuff but is a bit more at $38.50 for 750 grams  https://printedsolid.com/collections/co … pha-1-75mm

I have used inland brand from microcenter but at $15.00 a roll for chinese import vs the makergeek price of $16.50 including shipping seems a no brainer Buy made in USA.

Tin

Soliddoodle 4 stock w glass bed------Folger Tech Prusa 2020 upgraded to and titan /aero extruder mirror bed
FT5 with titan/ E3D Aero------MP mini select w glass bed
MP Utimate maker pro-W bondtech extruder
Marlin/Repetier Host/ Slic3r and Cura