Topic: Print keeps shifting

I am very new to 3D and we purchased a Solidoodle Press for our school.

I have had some success with cubes printing and have calibrated and tightened the bed screws.  I am still getting these prints when we have curved prints.

I have tried adjusting the temperature of the plate and extruder.

We get a good sticking on the first layers (I use a glue stick to help some) but once the print starts to build up it then shifts.  I cannot see any clogs and the extruder seems to work fine.

Any help or suggestions are much appreciated!!

Post's attachments

IMG_2109.JPG
IMG_2109.JPG 23.05 kb, 1 downloads since 2015-11-06 

IMG_2110.JPG
IMG_2110.JPG 29.18 kb, file has never been downloaded. 

You don't have the permssions to download the attachments of this post.

Re: Print keeps shifting

Skipping is caused by only a handful of things.
First mechanical binding of the axis, ensure smooth motion.
Over extrusion causing the nozzle to drag and forcing a skip, calibrate extrusion.
Overheating of the stepper drivers on the control board, add a fan.
Overheating of the motor itself, adjust VREF or add a heatsink or fan.

Printit Industries Model 8.10 fully enclosed CoreXY, Chamber heat
3-SD3's & a Workbench all fully enclosed, RH-Slic3r Win7pro, E3D V6, Volcano & Cyclops Hot End
SSR/500W AC Heated Glass Bed, Linear bearings on SS rods. Direct Drive Y-axis, BulldogXL
Thanks to all for your contributions

3 (edited by Skyblue 2015-11-07 13:16:32)

A easier solution for my machine was to tighten the set screws on all motors.

Guess I kind of skipped over that one.  Yeah, check your hardware for loose parts. wink

Printit Industries Model 8.10 fully enclosed CoreXY, Chamber heat
3-SD3's & a Workbench all fully enclosed, RH-Slic3r Win7pro, E3D V6, Volcano & Cyclops Hot End
SSR/500W AC Heated Glass Bed, Linear bearings on SS rods. Direct Drive Y-axis, BulldogXL
Thanks to all for your contributions