Topic: SD PRESS REVIEW

Just saw this   http://www.tomsguide.com/us/solidoodle- … -2681.html

SD3, E3D hotend,linear bearing on x/y axis',pillow block bearing on y conneting rod, ball bearngs on front y axis, fan on y stepper motor.

Re: SD PRESS REVIEW

Article sounds accurate, "most prints failed to adhere."

I dont agree with that article. I am noob on 3d printing, I am not an engineer, but I still manage to obtain 3 resonable printing so far. (not perfect, just resonable). At 400 USD, this is a fair price. (even 600 looks ok)

Fat kids are harder to kidnap!

If the prints still failed to adhere after using hairspray, masking tape, etc., then the reviewer is doing something wrong. I only had a bit of curling without any adhesion additions, and no issues once I used plenty of hairspray (a little bit wasn't enough).

The Press isn't perfect but it deserves more effort based on the price. But reviewers, like many others, love to report on a good failure.

5 (edited by jagowilson 2015-03-18 16:28:13)

pshcims wrote:

If the prints still failed to adhere after using hairspray, masking tape, etc., then the reviewer is doing something wrong. I only had a bit of curling without any adhesion additions, and no issues once I used plenty of hairspray (a little bit wasn't enough).

The Press isn't perfect but it deserves more effort based on the price. But reviewers, like many others, love to report on a good failure.

they mentioned the bed would not heat past 76C or so, so yeah, i can see prints not adhering. They've reviewed other printers and given them much higher scores--I think the idea was to see if SD support could give them advice that got prints to consistently adhere, and they failed to do so. Of course they know how to make prints stick.

jagowilson wrote:
pshcims wrote: