Topic: Dual Extruders and G Codes Help...

So I am new to 3D printing and am just learning the ropes. I have a Solidoodle Workbench Apprentice which has 2 extruders. I have several issues I am having problems working out on my own. i am using the latest Repetier with Slicr

1. I can manually force extruder T1 to print single filament prints by manually altering the start g code. When in slicr you can designate which extruder but I am apparently missing something to make it work automatically select the proper extruder and it just goes to the T that is set in the g code. Is there a g code that will tell it to use said extruder set to part x when you slice it?

2. Obviously Extruder T0 centers to the build plate. When I force change my G code to T1 to use the second extruder instead, where do I change my offset to shift it to the center of the build plate? It will use T1 but will still center it on the T0 extruder thus printing the part off tot he left. Not a huge problem if the part is relatively small but if it is not then it is going to print it off the plate and fail the print fast.

Re: Dual Extruders and G Codes Help...

So I have semi worked out problem one and just made a two slicer profiles to designate which extruder to use before slicing and then off to the races...

So back onto problem 2. I am still trying to figure out how to shift x-31.5 after a full z probe before it starts to print.

Here is my current start sequence. Any help is appreciated.

T0
g21; set mm units
g28 x0 y0; home x and y axes
g91
g1 z10 f5000; move bed down
g90; use absolute coordinates
g1 x0 y0 f5000; move to front
@pause
g29; probe bed
g92 e0; reset extrusion distance

There is a setting in Slic3r under Printer Settings/Extruder 2(or 1)/Extruder Offset

http://i.imgur.com/jdYWeqy.png

Try entering the x value for extruder 2 there...

SD2 - Stock - Enclosure - Heated Bed - Glass Plate - Auto Fire Extinguisher